Skip to main content

New Zealand represented by the National Committee

The IEC National Committee of New Zealand (NCNZ) is the sole official representative to the IEC. It serves as the focal point for New Zealand companies and organisations interested in the development and use of globally-relevant standards for electrical and electronic devices and systems and corresponding testing and certification.

The NCNZ represents all of the country’s needs in electrotechnology in the IEC and defends IEC interests in New Zealand. Its aim is to encourage the effective participation of all relevant national organisations, including industry, government, research facilities and academia in the development of IEC international standards to facilitate global trade for the benefit of New Zealand. The NCNZ also provides the framework to national industry, regulators and other institutions to advocate for New Zealand interests in international standard setting in electrotechnology, conformity assessment and related matters.

The New Zealand National Committee consists of a President, Secretary, and members. The Secretary is a non-voting member, responsible for ensuring the coordination of the NCNZ’s members, the NCNZ's work and its interaction with the IEC Central Office. The following members represent the NZNC:

  • Peter Berry (NC President) Former Executive Director with Electricity Engineers' Association of NZ (EEA)
  • Camilla Ojansivu (Secretary), Senior Advisor International Engagement, Standards New Zealand
  • Brian Fitzgerald, Technical Lead Standards & Regulation Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
  • Bryan King, Executive Director Lighting Council New Zealand and Managing Director Strategic Lighting Partners Ltd
  • Derek Johns, Independent consultant (Electrical Appliances)
  • Garry House, Independent consultant, Aviation and Marine Engineers Association
  • Paul Stannard, Technical Officer, WorkSafe New Zealand/Energy Safety
  • Peter Browne, Independent consultant, Engineering New Zealand
  • Peter Morfee, Principal Technical Advisor, WorkSafe New Zealand/Energy Safety
  • Stuart Foster, Certification Engineer, Underwriters Laboratories International New Zealand Ltd
  • Susan Mander, Lecturer, Massey University
  • Julian Gilbert, Technical Services Manager, Master Electricians

The NCNZ encourages representation of all interests in New Zealand in the fields of electrotechnical standardisation, including conformity assessment. Being fully representative allows the NCNZ to be sure that all national aspects have been considered when the NCNZ participates in the IEC's work.

The members represent stakeholders with interests within the various fields of electrotechnology in New Zealand. The NCNZ has a minimum of 7 members and a maximum of 12 members. If you are interested in joining the NCNZ, complete this form:

Apply to join the IEC National Committee of New Zealand (NCNZ)

Standards New Zealand supports the National Committee of New Zealand

Standards New Zealand is the operational arm of the New Zealand Standards Executive (NZSE) and provides support to the NCNZ under the provisions of a Terms of Reference (ToR). Since the NCNZ acts as an independent advisory committee without managerial or operational resources of its own, Standards New Zealand provides secretariat services and will carry out such managerial and operational work as agreed between the NCN