IEC Thomas A Edison Award recipients outstanding contributions by current IEC Officers recognised

Issue 47 – March 2013

Five of the seven laureates of the IEC 2012 Thomas A. Edison Award were honoured during the International Electrotechnical Commission's (IEC's) General Meeting week in Oslo in October 2012.

Each year the Thomas A. Edison Award recognises exceptional achievements in the management of IEC standardisation and conformity assessment activities by current technical committee (TC)/subcommittee (SC) officers (Chairman, Secretary, or Assistant Secretary) and officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies.

The award was created in 2010 and a maximum of nine IEC Thomas A. Edison Awards per year may be granted by the management bodies – Standardization Management Board (SMB) and Conformity Assessment Board (CAB). Seven of these are reserved for TC/SC officers and up to two for officers in the conformity assessment bodies. To be nominated for an award, TC and SC officers must be active in IEC work and they must have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and international standardisation work that assists the committee's key stakeholders and helps the committee to work more effectively.

Awards granted by SMB

The 2012 laureates who received their award during the SMB meeting in Oslo were:

  • Derek Johns, New Zealand: Chairman, IEC TC 61, Safety of household and similar electrical appliances. Johns is one of the longest serving IEC Committee Chairs and was recently reappointed for a sixth term as Chair of IEC TC 61. He has been actively involved in standardisation work for the electrical appliance industry for the past 37 years, and has held many positions at both regional and international levels

  • Yaping Li, KETOP Lab, China: Chair, IEC TC 95, Measuring relays and protection equipment. Dr Li is the first person to have taken on the role of chair in an IEC TC on behalf of China

  • Etsuji Sugita, Hakusan Manufacturing, Japan: Secretary, IEC SC 86B: Fibre optic interconnecting devices and passive components. Dr Sugita has held the position of Secretary of Subcommittee 86B, since 2003, when the Japanese National Committee accepted to host the secretariat. His dedication and contributions to the field of standardisation, interoperability, and reliable performance of fibre optic interconnecting devices and passive components have been recognised by the Thomas A. Edison award.

Two of the laureates distinguished by the SMB could not be present in Oslo and will receive their award at a later date: Karen Higginbottom, Chair, ISO/IEC JTC 1, Information technology, and Claire Vincent, Secretary, IEC TC 78, Live working.

Awards granted by CAB

The two CAB-nominated Thomas Edison awardees for 2012 are:

  • Kerry McManama, Underwriters Laboratories, United States: McManama, General Manager of global hazardous locations at UL, currently serves as Chairman of IECEx, the IEC System for Certification to Standards Relating to Equipment for Use in Explosive Atmospheres.

  • David W. Smith: Smith currently serves as Chairman of IECQ, the IEC Quality Assessment System for Electronic Components.

Summarised from IEC's e-tech, December 2012.

Note: You can order IEC Standards from or call 0800 782 632 during business hours or email Members of Standards New Zealand receive a 20% discount on all NZS and AS/NZS Standards, and a 10% discount on all international Standards. Visit our Membership page for more information.


Published in energy.