Latest IEC nominations and extensions

Issue 52 – August 2013

The IEC's Standardization Management Board (SMB) has approved one Advisory Committee on Safety (ACOS) nomination as well as the extension of the terms of office of existing technical committee (TC) Chairmen and one Advisory Committee on Electromagnetic Compatibility (ACEC) member. The SMB has also approved the nomination of the new ACEC Chairman as well as that of new country members of two strategic groups and one advisory committee.

New ACOS member

Marcel Chevalier, from France National Committee, has been nominated Expert Member of ACOS by the SMB. He replaces Philippe Juhel who became Chairman of ACOS upon Friedrich Harless's retirement in February 2013. The appointment is effective immediately.


Technical committees

The extensions of the terms of office of the following IEC TC Chairmen have been approved by SMB:

  • First extension to term of office for the period 1 June 2013 – 31 May 2016 of Gary R. Johnson as Chairman of IEC TC 49, Piezoelectric, dielectric and electrostatic devices and associated materials for frequency control, selection, and detection.
  • Third extension to term of office of Dieter W. Bergman as Chairman of IEC TC 91, Electronics assembly technology for the period 1 June 2013 – 31 May 2016.

Advisory Committee

The SMB also approved the extension of term of office of one ACEC member:

  • First extension to term of office of Martial Patra as member of ACEC, representing IEC TC 22, Power electronic systems and equipment.

New ACEC Chairman

Donald N. Heirman has been nominated Chairman of ACEC, effective immediately. His term of office will end on 30 June 2016.

Country nominations

The SMB strategic groups (SGs) are also welcoming new members: Philip Groenewald has been appointed South Africa member of SG 3, Smart Grid, and Dr Seongil Lee becomes Korea member of SG 5, Ambient Assisted Living.

Advisory Committee on Energy Efficiency welcomed new members with the newcomers Melanie Slade of Australia and Fu Changhong of China.

All nominations are effective from 1July 2013.

Summarised from IEC's e-tech, June 2013 and July 2013.

Published in energy.