Highest distinction in electrotechnology Lord Kelvin Award

Issue 22 – November 2010

Summarised from an IEC media release 18 October 2010

The Lord Kelvin Award is the International Electrotechnical Commission's (IEC's) highest tribute and is granted to a maximum of three outstanding individuals in any one year. The 2010 winners who received the Lord Kelvin Award for their lifelong contribution to electrotechnology are Jerome E. Dennis from the USA, Bernard Dumortier from France, and Gösta Fredriksson from Sweden.

Jerome E. Dennis

Dennis is an expert in the area of radiation safety and laser safety. He is active in the development of regulatory policies for radiation safety and is author and co-author of numerous papers. He recently retired after 33 years in the US Food and Drug Administration Center for Devices and Radiological Health) where he was the agency's international expert in laser and optical safety and safety standards. Dennis has chaired technical committee (TC) 76, 'Optical radiation safety and laser equipment', since 1998.

Bernard Dumortier

Dumortier has made substantial contributions to the IEC in the field of industrial automation. He was instrumental in achieving agreement on internationally relevant rules and specifications for Fieldbus, which is the world's leading digital protocol for process automation and crucially important for the automation industry. Dumortier has been active in the IEC for the last 25 years, serving since 2001 as Secretary of TC 65, 'Industrial-process measurement, control and automation'.

Gösta Fredriksson

As chairman of the IECEE (IEC System of Conformity Testing and Certification for Electrotechnical Equipment and Components), Fredriksson has been instrumental in expanding the influence and importance of IECEE, the flagship IEC Conformity Assessment System. The system is remarkable in that it allows companies to have a product tested in one country and all members will accept the resulting test certificate and report without duplicating any of the completed tests. This not only saves industry a lot of money, but also helps them to significantly reduce time to market.

About the Lord Kelvin Award

The Award was first created in 1995 and named after the IEC's distinguished first president, William Thompson, 1st Baron of Kelvin, one of the most brilliant minds of the 19th century. Kelvin was an incessant inventor and through his mathematical genius, significantly contributed to the advancement of modern physics and science, and the understanding and practical application of electrotechnology.

IEC experts who receive the Lord Kelvin Award, have the same drive to understand and improve the practical applications of the millions of electrical and electronic devices that are part of our lives.

Published in energy.