Transfer of the QR012 committee secretariat

Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand are pleased to announce the transfer of the QR-012 committee secretariat from Standards Australia to Standards New Zealand – effective immediately. This will bring together the EL-002 and QR-012 committees into one new secretariat under the management of Standards New Zealand though both will remain as separately constituted committees.

EL-002 is the joint committee responsible for preparing Australian/New Zealand Standards for the safety of electrical equipment, appliances, and small power transformers. QR-012 is the joint committee responsible for coordinating and managing the rules for the operation of a compliance/conformance-marking scheme for electrical and other products taking into account the requirements of the regulatory authorities.

A number of Australian and New Zealand stakeholders are members of both committees and linking them under one secretariat will enable meetings to be coordinated and the work progressed in a more efficient and timely manner.

This in effect will establish one leadership committee for appliance safety in Australasia.

The combined secretariat will be managed by Bev Harniss, who project manages EL-002. Standards New Zealand has appointed Derek Johns as Chair of the combined committee.

For any queries please contact

Published in energy.