Standards New Zealand hosts 143rd meeting of electrical equipment committee EL002

Standards New Zealand hosted the 143rd meeting of the EL-002 committee in Wellington from 18 to 20 February 2009. EL-002 is a joint Australian and New Zealand Standards committee that prepares Standards for the safety of electrical equipment, appliances, and small power transformers, while in use with people, livestock, and the environment.

The EL-002 committee considers many safety factors when preparing Standards, including personal protection against electric shock, effects of excessive temperature radiation, explosion, mechanical stability, hazardous moving parts, and protection against fire.

The committee Chair, Derek Johns, received the Lord Kelvin Award from the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) in 2007. This prestigious IEC Award distinguishes experts who have made outstanding contributions to electrotechnical standardisation.  Derek has been actively involved in standardisation work for the electrical appliance industry for the past 25 years, and has held many positions at both regional and international levels.

The EL-002 committee has 25 Australian and five New Zealand members, and meets twice-yearly in Australia or New Zealand, by rotation. The last New Zealand meeting was in February 2007. New Zealand has managed the secretariat since 2001, providing technical and administrative services to the committee. Energy Safety (a division of the Ministry of Economic Development) funds EL-002.

For more information, please contact Bev Harniss, Project Solutions Specialist at Standards New Zealand:, or telephone 04 495 0920.

Published in energy.