Congratulations to our Meritorious Service Award winners

Issue 42 – September 2012

Associate Commerce Minister John Banks hosted this year's Meritorious Service Awards at the Beehive in August.

This year, winners were recognised for their contributions to Standards development in the areas of electrical appliances; quality management; conditions of contract for construction and engineering projects; safe chemical management; information management and computer applications; safe performance of earth-moving machinery, and compliance capability in the public sector.

The winners were:

  • Individual committee members – Diane Baguley, Bill Birch (William Caccia-Birch), Andrew Brickell, Alison Elliott, and Peter Fisher

  • Committee of the Year – the Department of Internal Affairs Compliance Guide Advisory Group

  • Standards Council Award for Outstanding Contribution to Standards and Standardisation – Derek Johns

Learn more about all of our award winners.

Standards Council Member Vaughan Renner told the 120 guests in his welcoming speech that this year's award ceremony was particularly special as 2012 marks 80 years of New Zealand Standards.

'Borne out of the Hawke's Bay earthquake of 1931, our first earthquake-related Standard was published in 1932. While things have greatly changed over that time, what has remained constant, as these winners demonstrate, is Standards New Zealand's work to provide solutions that assist in delivering social and economic benefits.'

Minister Banks noted the extremely high calibre of the winners and their generosity in offering their expertise and time to Standards development. He also acknowledged the role Standards play in enabling business.

'Quality Standards are an essential enabler of business growth … the high quality of New Zealand Standards is a reflection of the knowledge and commitment of Standards developers.

'Recognising the importance of Standards, the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment is currently undertaking a review of New Zealand's standards and conformance infrastructure. The purpose of the review is to ensure that we have a viable and well-functioning system that meets the needs of business, regulators and consumers for the foreseeable future.'

Standards New Zealand Chief Executive Debbie Chin said, 'It is through the knowledge and commitment of our committee members that we are able to continue improving New Zealanders' quality of life through Standards solutions. The Meritorious Awards celebrate those individuals and committees that have shown exceptional commitment and leadership to Standards and standardisation.'

Standards New Zealand hosts the Meritorious Service Awards each year to recognise the outstanding contribution that winning committee members have made to Standards development. The awards are also an opportunity to thank the 2000+ volunteer committee members, their employers, and nominating organisations who all make Standards development possible.

View photos of all of our award winners.

Read additional information on the Meritorious Service Awards.


Published in business and ICT.