ISO 9001 quality management system Standard

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has just published ISO 9001:2008, the latest edition of the international Standard used by organisations in 175 countries as the framework for their quality management systems (QMS).

AS/NZS adoption of ISO 9001:2008 to be available in December

Standards New Zealand and Standards Australia will be adopting ISO 9001 and plan to publish this in mid to late December.  No changes will be made to the international Standard for local adoption.  To be notified when the adopted Standard is available, subscribe to our ‘Keep me up to date’ service.

First published in 1987, ISO 9001 has become the global benchmark for providing assurance about the ability to satisfy quality requirements and to enhance customer satisfaction in supplier/customer relationships.

ISO 9001:2008 contains no new requirements compared to the 2000 edition, which it replaces.  It provides clarification on the existing requirements of ISO 9001:2000 and introduces changes intended to improve consistency with the environmental management system Standard, ISO 14001:2004.

The revised ISO 9001 has resulted from a structured process giving weight to the needs of users and to the likely impacts and benefits of the revisions.  ISO 9001:2008 is the outcome of a rigorous examination confirming its fitness for use as the international benchmark for quality management.


Although certification of conformity to ISO 9001 is not a requirement of the Standard, it is frequently used in both the public and private sectors to increase confidence in the products and services provided by certified organisations, between partners in business-to-business relations, in the selection of suppliers in supply chains, and in the right to tender for procurement contracts.

Organisations can remain certified/registered to the year 2000 version.  Certification to ISO 9001:2008 is not an ‘upgrade’, and organisations that are certified to ISO 9001:2000 should be afforded the same status for those which have already received a new certificate to ISO 9001:2008.  However, certificates to ISO 9001:2000 will only remain valid two years after the publication of ISO 9001:2008.  Contact your certification/registration body for details on the certificate transition process.

More information

The committee responsible for the revision, ISO/TC 176/SC 2, has also developed an introduction and support package of documents explaining what the differences are between ISO 9001:2008 and the year 2000 version, why, and what they mean for users.  These documents are available on the International Organization for Standardization website.  View ISO 9001:2008 support documents.

The International Organization for Standardization (which does not itself carry out certification) and the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) have agreed on an implementation plan to ensure a smooth transition of accredited certification to ISO 9001:2008.  The details of the plan are given on the ISO website www.iso.orgView implementation plan.

Published in business and ICT.

You may be interested in these Standards: