Inaugural Site Safe Construction Health and Safety Awards

Inagural site

Issue 46 – February 2013

In 2012, Site Safe introduced the inaugural Site Safe Construction Health and Safety Awards, to acknowledge people, sites, or
companies/organisations who have demonstrated innovation and leadership in helping to improve health and safety in the construction Industry. The awards are a way of giving national recognition to those who are making a difference in the construction sector.

The Honourable Kate Wilkinson presented awards to the winners of the inaugural Site Safe Construction Health and Safety Awards.

  • Benchmark Homes Canterbury Ltd won the Unitec Institute of Technology Safety Innovation Award (small to medium business), presented by Unitec's Graham Hodge.

  • McConnell Dowell Constructors Ltd won the AWF Group Safety Innovation Award (large business), presented by the CEO of AWF Group, Mike Huddleston.

  • Gibson Decorators and Sons Ltd won the MSA Safety Leadership Award, presented by Ken Hindmarsh from MSA.

All award winners received a trophy and a $1000 gift certificate.

The judges' panel felt the application from Rhett Brown needed acknowledgement. Rhett Brown received a Judges Award for Significant Individual Contribution to Health and Safety in the Construction Industry.

Summarised from Site Safe's website,


Published in building.