Trans Tasman Timber Design Awards Programme announced

Issue 23 – December 2010

NZ Wood and Australian Timber Design Awards recently announced the introduction of a Trans-Tasman Timber Design Award open to the design industries in both Australia and New Zealand. The awards will be made in four categories and a winner and runner up will be announced in each category. The winners will be announced just before Christmas.

The four awards categories are as follows.

  1. Residential housing
  2. Commercial construction
  3. Community
  4. Multi-storey

Entries will be drawn from the finalists in the recent Australian and New Zealand national timber design awards, both of which have taken place recently.

'Both Australia and New Zealand have built houses in wood for generations, it is part of the Anzac culture,' says Geoff Henley, programme manager of NZ Wood. 'However, interest in wood for other applications has blossomed in the last few years and there is great interest in its use in commercial, community, and multi-storey construction.'

'Awards give us the opportunity to incentivise superior design in wood,' says Andrew Dunn, chief executive, Timber Development Association NSW. 'Being such a versatile product the only limitation is the imagination of the designer.Trans-Tasman Awards give designers in both countries the opportunity to show what they are capable of across a larger market.'

For more information contact Geoff Henley +64 4 460 6607 or Andrew Dunn +61 2 8424 3700.

Summarised from a NZ Wood media release 25 November 2010.

Published in building.