Developing standards

We specialise in managing the development of standards. Standards provide potential solutions to issues, resolve problems, provide a means of compliance with legislation, and create commercial benefits such as trading opportunities.

We use a robust and recognised process that relies on expert committee consensus and widespread consultation with affected parties, including public input. Our standards are formally approved by the Standards Approval Board in accordance with the requirements of the Standards and Accreditation Act 2015.

We do not test products to particular standards and we are not a certification body. If you wish to be tested or certified to a standard you will need to contact a certifying body. For a list of these organisations, please contact either International Accreditation New Zealand(external link) (IANZ) or Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand(external link) (JAS-ANZ).

Who initiates the development of a standard?

A wide range of private and public organisations initiate and help fund the development of standards. In many cases these are industry bodies or government departments.

Why fund the development of a standard?

Read Why Commission? The benefits of funding standards [PDF, 2.6 MB] [PDF 2.9 MB]

How is a standard developed?

The content in a standard is developed by independent expert committees. Committees are made up of volunteers nominated by organisations (public and private) that have an interest in the subject covered by the standard.

Once the content for the standard is written, a draft is made available on our website for anybody to comment on. This process is called public comment. Comments submitted during the public comment period are reviewed by the committee and if necessary the standard is modified.

What is Standards New Zealand’s role in developing standards?

Our role is to manage the process using internationally recognised best practices. The processes we use comply with directives from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and the Standards and Accreditation Act 2015. 

Last updated 9 November 2017