Skip to main content

Standards New Zealand offers solutions based on international, regional (trans-Tasma and Pacific), and international standards.

Standards New Zealand is New Zealand’s national standards body. Standards New Zealand is the New Zealand member of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). Membership of the International Electrotechnical Committee (IEC) is via the IEC National Committee of New Zealand (NCNZ).

International Organization for Standardization(external link)

International Electrotechnical Committee(external link)

We also have a wide network of contacts with other national standards bodies around the world and formal agreements with national standards bodies of significant importance to us, for example, a Memorandum of Understanding with Standards Australia.

The policy of Standards New Zealand is to base New Zealand standards on international standards as far as possible, although there will be times where local conditions and circumstances need to be incorporated. This approach better enables the international exchange of goods and services as these international standards generally reflect the best practice of industry and regulators worldwide and cover conditions in a variety of countries we trade with. This policy is also in line with our obligations under the World Trade Organization’s (WTO) Code of Practice, which requires the elimination of technical standards as barriers to international trade.

Regional standards

We also represent New Zealand at the Pacific Area Standards Congress (PASC).

Pacific Area Standards Congress(external link)

Through membership of these international and regional bodies, we ensure that, where necessary, New Zealand's interests are considered. We also ensure that information about international standards development and publications is made available locally.

For information about the development of ISO standards email

For more information about IEC standards email